Here are some answers to the most commonly asked questions from first-time medical marijuana patients:
What conditions qualify me for medical marijuana use?
California’s qualifying conditions include the following for medical marijuana use:
- Chronic Pain
- Persistent muscle spasms, including those associated with multiple sclerosis
- Seizures, including, but not limited to, those associated with epilepsy
- Severe nausea
- Any other chronic or persistent medical symptom that substantially limits the ability of the person to conduct one or more major life activities (as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990) or, if not alleviated, may cause serious harm to the patient’s safety or physical or mental health.
How much medical marijuana are you legally allowed to possess?
According to the Health and Safety Code Section 11362.77, a patient or primary caregiver is allowed to possess 8 ounces of dried cannabis at any given time. They can also maintain or cultivate 6 mature marijuana plants or 12 immature marijuana plants in addition to the dried marijuana.
Local ordinances can dictate the quantity of marijuana that can be cultivated. Please check your local county laws to verify the legal limits apply to you.
Here is some additional information on legal limits for Cannabis.
How can I consume medical marijuana?
There are lots of different ways to consume medical marijuana, including but not limited to smoking, vaping, topicals or edibles. Some methods include smoking, and many do not require smoking cannabis.
Check out some of our other related blog posts:
Where can I smoke my medical marijuana?
If you live in a state with medical marijuana, a private residence is generally acceptable. Other states vary on different locations. Typical places where medical marijuana cannot be consumed include:
- Within 1000 feet of a school, recreation or youth center
- Federal land, such as national parks, forests, monuments, etc.
- No Smoking zones
- School Buses
- While operating a motor vehicle or boat
- Workplaces and correctional facilities
It is advised to exercise discretion while consuming your medical marijuana in public.
Can I travel with my medical cannabis?
Most airports may not permit you to carry your medical marijuana on your flight. Please remember that national parks, national forests, monuments, etc. are all subjected to the federal law. Hence, possession or use of medical marijuana on this land – even with a valid recommendation – can potentially lead to arrest.
For more legal questions, check out our piece, Intro to Medical Marijuana Patient Rights.
How long is my medical cannabis recommendation valid?
The doctor determines the validity period of each recommendation. However, recommendations are usually valid for up to one year, after which they must be renewed.
What is the legal age for applying for a medical marijuana card?
You must be 18 years old to apply for a medical marijuana card. Patients under the age of 18 must consult a doctor with parental consent.
How do I apply for a State ID card?
You can apply for a State ID card through the health department of the county in which you reside. You may qualify for a State ID card only if you are a resident of California.
Can I use my medical marijuana card outside the State of California?
Each state has its own laws on medical cannabis possession and use. You may be able to use your medical marijuana card outside California if the visiting state accepts your recommendation.
How do I select the correct strain for me?
Each strain of marijuana has unique effects. You can check out online medical dispensaries like Woahstork to search through the variety of available strains and select one that is appropriate for your health condition.
If you are a patient looking for strains to help with insomnia, read our piece Best Weed For Sleep.Get Your Card Now